Monday, June 20, 2016

University of Barisal

University of Barisal or simply BU may be a public university settled in Barisal, a city in southern Bangladesh. It is the only real general public university in Barisal division and also the country's thirty third public university. It was established in 2011 and commenced educational activities on twenty 5 Jan 2012. The university offers degrees in undergraduate levels. There are eighteen instructional departments to a lower place six faculties.


BU is situated in the district of Barisal to a lower place Barisal Division. It is located at Karnakathi on the japanese bank of the Kirtonkhola watercourse beside Barisal-Patuakhali road concerning a combine of kilometers from the center of Barisal city. The university has also a city field settled beside Barisal Zilla school.
Demand for a university was first created in 1960 before the independence of Bangla Desh. In 1973, then-Prime Minister Sheikh Mujibur Rahman declared he required to establish a university in Barisal throughout a rally management at intervals the city. President Ziaur Rahman made a similar statement concerning establishing a university in Barisalon solar calendar month twenty 3, 1978, at a rally in Barisal Circuit House. In 1990s, former president Abdur Rahman Biswas also created a statement for the establishment of the university.
After three decades, following strong demand from the of us of Barisal, the proposal was passed in ECNEC on November twenty 9, 2008, by then Caretaker Government. On 22 Gregorian calendar month 2011, Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina inaugurated the construction of building of the university. The educational activities were inaugurated by Minister for education Nurul Islam on twenty four Jan 2012, in a temporary campus beside Barisal Zilla school.
The construction of the foremost campus started in 2012 that's found at Karnakathi on the japanese bank of the Kirtonkhola watercourse in Sadar upazila. Tk. 90 massive number was countable to construct the university on fifty acres of land, including twelve acres of personal and thirty eight acres public land.
In academic year 2011-2012 around four hundred student’s area unit registered in six majors to a lower place four disciplines.


The university campus covers associate area of fifty acres. The campus of BU is outstanding for its pretty style and natural beauty. It is landscaped around the Kirtankhola stream with field areas and plants making the sphere a natural installation. Facilities include academic buildings, administration building, auditorium, library, computer center, workshop, research laboratories, halls of residence, teachers' quarter, mosque etc. The university has inside its boundaries a bank, a canteen and a large space.


The university runs its own regular bus service to and from the town for advantage of the scholars residing there, every alternate day. Friday and weekday are weekly holidays. Two bus BRTC bus of Barisal University conjointly ply to and from the town. All kinds of mechanized transport ply between Kaptai and therefore the town.

Medical Center

The University Medical Center is provided for medical aid but serious cases area unit remarked a medical faculty hospital that is concerning four kilometers away.

Sports and entertainment

The university provides facilities for football, cricket, volleyball, table tennis etc. The students play tennis, badminton and various games as well. Sports meets and games competitions are choices of field life. The students arrange dialogue, cultural show etc. The annual sports events are organized at Barisal divisional construction.


The library of BU is dedicated for individual study and word. Multiple copies of text books are obtainable at the counter. The library has more than 20000 books and hundreds of journals and periodicals in its assortment. Approximately one hundred students will use these facilities at a time. The daily newspaper and monthly magazines are additionally obtainable.



« President Abdul Hamid,


« Professor Dr. S M Imamul Huq


Classes for the 2011-12 educational year started on 24 January 2012. Admission is offered in six subjects: Mathematics, Management Studies, Marketing, Economics, Sociology, and English. Currently it offers admission in six schools and eighteen departments.

Faculty of Science and Engineering

« Department of Mathematics
« Department of Chemistry
«Department of Physics
« Department of Geology and Mining

Faculty of Bio-Sciences and Agriculture

« Department of Soil and Environmental Sciences
« Department of Botany

Faculty of Arts and Humanities

« Department of Bengali
« Department of English

Faculty of Social Science

« Department of Economics
« Department of Political Science
« Department of Public Administration
« Department of Sociology

Faculty of Business Studies

« Department of Accounting and Information System (AIS)
« Department of Finance and Banking
« Department of Marketing
« Department of Management Studies

Faculty of Law

« Department of Law

The Medium of instruction

The medium of instruction is English, which is the official language for examinations. Bengali is also followed whereas teaching.

Halls of residence

There are one public convenience and one women's dormitories underneath construction.

Men's Hostel :
« Bangabandhu hall

Women's Hostel :
« Sheikh Hasina hall